Bright Brown + Jeff Taylor

March 7th, 2020 7pm   Stage


Bright Brown

Bright Brown is sonic cinema. Bittersweet layers and textures abound, and beautifully crafted songs exist at the core. Alex Nahas’ songwriting boldly chooses to sit between the meager and the mundane, elevating the everyday.

"...Bright Brown bring an ideal soundtrack to the crisp, autumn air. ...Sounds range from sparse and repetitive like a piece for avant-garde dance to expansive and melodic like the theme from a western where everyone dies in the same pool of blood."
- The Deli NYC

"...brilliant songs, full of pathos and alienation, but sweetened with strong doses of optimism."
- Greg Howard,

“Like David Byrne after a hot bath...”
- Leah Siegel

“...Nahas' voice is heartbreaking and hopeful at the same time, the music layering over and under like sweet and sorrow...”

Jeff Taylor

Jeff Taylor is a singer-songwriter based in New York. His first album, Frustration in Time Travel was released in 2012 under the band name, Dumpster Hunter. This was followed by the EP, Organelle in 2014 as his first solo release. Jeff collaborated with Sean Kiely in 2017, releasing a split 7″ single, Willow, Texas.

This past year has seen Jeff working with Donny McCaslin (David Bowie’s Blackstar band) to co-write and record his latest album, “Blow”, and together they have been touring the world throughout 2018/2019 for the release. He also appeared on Donny’s previous album, Beyond Now, singing a cover of David Bowie’s “A Small Plot of Land”. Earlier in 2018, Marike van Dijk‘s The Stereography Project was released featuring arrangements of Jeff’s songs for a 12-piece wind and string ensemble. He also frequently sings with Mark Guiliana‘s Beat Music project, and has toured and recorded with the likes of Sara Bareilles, Trixie Whitley, and Kishi Bashi.

In 2013 Jeff joined a cast of brilliant actors and musicians at Walt Disney Concert Hall for the Los Angeles Philharmonic’s one-night-only, sold out performance of Frank Zappa’s 200 Motels, under the conducting of legendary Finish maestro Esa-Pekka Salonen.

Jeff has just completed recording of his debut full length solo album, featuring the rhythm section of Matt Johnson (Jeff Buckley, Rufus Wainwright, St. Vincent) and Jesske Hume (Conor Oberst, Margaret Glaspy).