Jeff Taylor: Album Release Show w/ Sean Kiely

March 18th, 2022 7pm   Stage 2


Current New York City guidelines may restrict access to this event. Please visit our COVID-19 Information page for the most updated information regarding vaccine, testing, and mask requirements.

Jeff Taylor

JEFF TAYLOR has already toured, collaborated, and recorded with indie-music’s brightest luminaries on both sides of the Atlantic. Now, he steps into the spotlight himself with a new record deal, and “The Living,” the second single from his forthcoming album.

Working on stage and in the studio with the likes of Sara Bareilles, Trixie Whitley, Mark Guiliana, Kishi Bashi, Esa-Pekka Salonen, and Donny McCaslin, Jeff Taylor’s unique talents and musical versatility have been celebrated since his early days of performing on New York City’s Lower East Side at Rockwood Music Hall.

Taylor gained further notice with the independent release of his first effort under the name Dumpster Hunter, 2012’s Frustration in Time Travel, produced by John Siket (Blonde Redhead, Phish, Dave Matthews Band) and Steve Wall (Lucius, Mark Guiliana, Gretchen Parlato). He followed with his 2014 EP Organelle, produced by Thomas Bartlett (St. Vincent, The National, Yoko Ono).

In 2018, Taylor co-fronted distinguished composer Marike van Dijk‘s The Stereography Project, performing in the United States and Europe and featuring arrangements of his songs for a 12-piece wind-and-string ensemble. The following year, Taylor toured the world with Donny McCaslin (from David Bowie’s Blackstar band), in support of McCaslin’s album, Blow, which Taylor co-wrote.

With his reputation growing as a star on the rise, Taylor has signed with Los Angeles-based record label Merrill Artists (ECR Music Group), and is releasing “The Living,” the second single from his debut full-length solo album. The album, A Deeper Kind, features drummer Matt Johnson (Jeff Buckley, Rufus Wainwright, St. Vincent) and Jesske Hume (Conor Oberst, Margaret Glaspy), and was produced by John Agnello (Sonic Youth, Kurt Vile, Dinosaur Jr., Thurston Moore).

Sean Kiely

"Fascinating music ... very unusual, which of course I like" - David Crosby

Sean Kiely is a Jersey City-based singer-songwriter & guitarist. His songs contemplate the world with a sensitive eye, a unique and plaintive voice, and intricate acoustic arrangements that defy both current trend & traditional categorization.

After releasing his first full-length Arch Envy in 2012, Sean turned his focus toward the acoustic guitar, and began crafting the unique and evocative songs on his 2015 full-length album, the highly praised Your Logo, My Logo. In 2017, he collaborated with singer Jeff Taylor (Beat Music, Donny McCaslin - A Small Plot of Land) on their Willow, Texas split 7".

2018 brings a brand new EP It Sure Was Good, featuring four new songs inspired by the story of the failed Roanoke Colony, blending personal narrative with the historical and political. It is a deeply-felt collection of songs, featuring beautiful performances from Bobby McCullough, Dave Heilman (Sondre Lerche, Regina Spektor), Jonny Lam (Sinkane, The Atomic Bomb Band), & Zac Colwell (Fancy Colors, CHAPPO, Big Data), and a stunning recording & mix by John Agnello (Son Volt, Nada Surf, Dinosaur Jr.).